Jumping forward again on request!

While out at Volo I was lucky enough to be given a bottle of the Lazarus Breakfast Stout from Jordan.  I did not have the opportunity to get out to Project X when it was being launched so it was a great surprise that Jordan saved one for me.  Thanks dude!

We were having some Quesadillas for dinner which I make an Ancho Chili red sauce to accompany them.  Since Lazarus was also made with some Ancho Chilies I thought it would make for a good pairing.  And it did!  I also promised Jordan to give my honest feedback so here goes!

About the Beer – It poured a lovely black colour with a great mocha coloured head.  The aroma was of coffee bean, roasted nuts, and chocolate.  My wife said it reminded her of the cottage??  The flavour was great, lots of coffee right up front with a nutty-cocoa flavour throughout and an espresso hit at the end.  You could barely pick out the Ancho Chili used but maybe that was because there was Ancho Chilies in my meal?  The texture was one of the first thing I noticed about the beer though.  Very smooth and creamy, just what I look for in a Stout.  I think I really like Breakfast Stout!

Would I Drink it Again? – Yes,  I thought it was a very tasty beer.  If it was produced again I would definitely buy some.  Would make a great Seasonal brew.  My only suggestion would be to kick up the Ancho Chili just a tad more!