Have you ever had a Milk Stout?

I had the pleasure of getting over to the Rhino with my neighbour Peter for an event by HMH Negotiants.  HMH put on a meet the brewers of Charlevoix night.  There were 4 different Charlevoix beer to be had.  The Dominus Vobiscum Reserva Hibernus, Dominus Vobiscum Reserva Lupulus, La Vache Folle Imperial Milk Stout, and Dominus Vobiscum Tripel.  I chose to sample 3 of the 4.  I have the Lupulus in my cellar so I gave that one a pass although it seemed to be everyones favourite.  It was a fun night but not a great turn-out which was ok because it gave me lots of time to speak to one of the brewers(forgot his name already!!).  My favourite line of the night was when the brewer was talking about his Milk Stout “It is my baby” he says.

Funny story about Charlevoix.  I went snowboarding in 2003 with my buddies Paul and Eric at Le Massif in Quebec which is near this little town called Baie-Saint-Paul.  We stopped at a brewpub in Baie-Saint-Paul called Restaurant-Microbrasserie Le Saint-Pub.  This is where Charlevoix got started before they moved their production to a bigger facility.  I had no idea that I had already had Charlevoix beer!

About the Beer – It poured very black.  Not much of a head but the person pouring was very delicate with it.  Tons of lacing in the glass.  The aroma was of chocolate, dark fruit, slightly roasted malt, and a bit of bread.  The flavour was fantastic.  Chocolate, roasted nuts, malt, bread, caramel, and a bit of smoke pummel the senses.  It is sweet but not too sweet and very, very smooth.

Would I Drink it Again? – For sure!  This is a great, great beer!

EDIT:  Thanks to Greg’s blog over at Taste T.O. I can remember the brewers name.  Frederick Tremblay.  Greg also has a great write up on all the beers!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

