Did you know Quebec made so many IPA’s?

I had no idea Quebec made so many of my favourite style beer, IPA!  I have always been under the wrong assumption that Quebec brewers did not stray to far from Belgian style ales since in Ontario Unibroue dominates the market.  It has been a treat to pick up quite a few on my trip.  The funny thing is that one of my favourite pale ales of all time is from Quebec.  St. Ambroise Pale Ale!  You would have thought that would clue me in to the diversity of Quebec brewers!

About the Beer – It poured a light copper colour with a nice head that left a little lacing.  The aroma was quite mixed.  I picked up some citrus (grapefruit), coriander, grass, and what reminded me of a floral soap.  The taste was very bitter citrus to start then an earthy bitterness took over and lasted the rest of the way through.  The aftertaste was of bitter pine and lasted on the palate for a very long time.  No real malt flavours came through.

Would I Drink it Again? – No, too far over on the hop side and not enough malt to balance this beer out…..and this coming from a hop lover!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

