How crazy would you be if there was prohibition on beer for 74 years?

I can tell you I did not hold out much hope of this beer being any good.  My trepidation came from the fact that Iceland had a prohibition on beer from 1915 to 1989.  How good could the brewing tradition be?  In fact Ölvisholt Brugghús has only been brewing beer since 2007.  To my great surprise this beer was fantastic.  Also Iceland has one very cool tradition.  They celebrate the end of prohibition every year with a national piss up called Beer Day!

About the Beer – It pours a lovely amber colour.  The head was small but nice and thick.  The aroma was of bread, citrus, pine and a bit of fruit.  The flavour was great.  It has a nice bready malt backbone with lots of hops overtones.  Citrus and grass are clearly defined in this brew.

Would I Drink it Again? – For sure!  If you had of asked me what I was drinking without showing me the bottle I would have sworn it was an american pale ale.  I am going to run out and grab a few more of these!  I think I need to start lobbying for a Beer Day in Canada!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to Technorati