Have you ever been looking forward to something but end up really disappointed?

Brew – Muskoka Hefe-Weissbier 5% ABV, 473mlMuskoka Hefe-Weissbier

BrewerMuskoka Cottage Brewery

StyleHefeweizen

Country – Ontario, Canada

PurchasedLCBO

I was looking forward to trying this beer from Muskoka Cottage Brewery.  I have recently reviewed a couple of their beers, and though they have not been stellar brews, they have had good flavour and quality.  Sadly the Hefe did not live up to expectations!  What I find interesting is that the Muskoka Hefe-Weissbier get’s good reviews on BeerAdvocate.  Maybe I am biased due to all the good Hefe’s I have been reviewing lately: Link to Hefe’s I reviewed

For reviews of other Muskoka Beer see these links:

Flagship Beer? – Beer #92

Lake Beer? – Beer #89

About the Beer – It pours a very slight foggy  gold colour.  Not a lot of yeast in the bottle.  The head is gone in the blink of an eye with no real lacing.  The aroma was of orange peel, biscuit, clove, and a bit of metal.  The flavour was very odd.  There was definitely the base flavours of a wheat beer, but I was overpowered by coriander and citrus peel.  It was also a little sweet for my liking and left an unpleasant aftertaste.

Would I Drink it Again? – No, I did not even finish this one.  The aftertaste was just to horrible to stomach. Very disappointing!

