How long can you keep one strain of yeast?

Brew – Winter Welcome Ale 6% ABV, 550mlSam Smith Winter Welcome Ale

BrewerSamuel Smith Old Brewery

StyleEnglish Strong Ale

CountryUnited Kingdom

PurchasedLCBO

I know, I know, it is not the beginning of winter…but it is a nice cool day so I thought I would bust out the Winter Welcome Ale.

Sam Smiths is the oldest brewery in Tadcaster founded in 1758.  It is the only independent brewer left in Tadcaster and one of a handful left in all of England.  The brewery is steeped in tradition.  So much so that they use a continuos strain of yeast from the early 1900’s and water from a well that was sunk over 200 years ago.  They still hand weigh their hops!!

About the Beer – It pours a lovely copper colour with a nice big off white head.  The head lasts quite a while and leaves lacing.  The nose of the beer is quite interesting,  I picked up rye, caramel, spice and some bread.  The flavour was quite malty with some sweetness.  There is also a very slight hit of fruit followed up by a spicy hop finish.  The beer clears off the palate fast.

Would I Drink it Again? – Yes, not one of my favourites but a clean refreshing beer.