Bold, creative, unusual?

Brew – 10 Bitter Years Anniversary Ale 8% ABV, 341ml10 Bitter Years Anniversary Ale

BrewerBlack Oak Brewing Company

StyleImperial IPA/Double IPA

Country – Ontario, Canada

Purhased – Black Oak Brewing Company Store

Oh Yeh!  This is creative beer at it’s finest.  A few posts ago I was very critical about the Ontario Craft Brewers(OCB) for not taking risks.  See what I had to say here: Off-Centered – Beer #68.

Black Oak Brewing Company is making me eat my words.  This is what I was talking about when I said the OCB should take more risks and be more creative.  I hope this beer will grow into being more than just a seasonal or onetime brew.

About the Beer – It pours a lovely amber/orange colour with about one finger of head that dissipates quickly to a nice thick ring that last a long time.  The first aroma I picked out was apricot then came some grapefruit citrus, floral, and herbal notes as well.  The flavour is in your face!  Big hits of citrus, floral and herbal hops, with a nice bit of sweet malt to balance it out.  The aftertaste had only a hint of achohol to go along with the herbal bitterness.

Would I Drink it Again? – Absolutely, this is my kind of beer(if I can get it).  Apparently this is selling very fast.  Note to other OCB’s. Risk = reward!  I commend Black Oak for pushing the boundaries with this beer!

