I keep trying to, but not finding quality.

Brew – Left Coast Pale Ale 5% ABV, 650mlLeft Coast Pale Ale

BrewerTrafalgar Ales & Meads

StylePale Ale

Country – Ontario, Canada

PurchasedLCBO

So as you can see from the picture I had a tough time pouring this beer.  I was very gentle and still managed to get the head you see.  That is the fourth pour by the way!

For a review of Trafalgar’s Elora Special Bitter follow the link:  Gone but not Gone – Beer #62

About the Beer – I pours a hazy apricot/copper colour.  The head is HUGE and leaves lacing.  It has a quite lovely smell.  Fruity and tart maybe even sour.  Dare I say almost like a Belgian beer.  That is where the similarities end though.  The flavour of this beer is awful.  It in no way resembles a pale ale.  It starts out with a strange hop taste possibly bitter lemon and sour fruit.  This beer leaves an oily aftertaste and the sour lasts on the palate forever.

Would I Drink it Again? – No Way, I am still trying to get the sour taste out of my mouth a half hour later.  This is the first ever Pale Ale I could not finish (maybe this bottle is off).  I truly want to like Trafalgar beers since they are right up the road, but the consistency is laking.  Sadly I still have one more Trafalgar beer to review in my cellar.  Here’s hoping it is better than this one!

