Brew – Hopping Mad Pale Ale 6%Granite Brewery Hopping Mad Pale Ale

BrewerGranite Brewery

Country – Ontario, Canada

Purchased – Granite Brewery and Restaurant

I had the pleasure of attending the 5th Cask Social at the Granite Brewery.  This is a gathering for those that love cask conditioned ales.  Cask ale is when the beer is conditioned in the cask and served from the cask.  It is said to be the freshest beer you can buy.  Granite was offering 3 cask ales.  Hopping Mad, Best Bitter Special and the IPA.

I have not been to Granite for quite some time and it was good to get back and sample some beer.  I have always loved their beers (suits my palate).  As you can see I sampled the Hopping Mad but I also took home a growler of Best Bitter.  Look for a review of the Best Bitter later.

About the Beer – The Hopping Mad had a nice copper colour and floral aroma.  The taste was all floral but I had a hard time placing exactly what I was tasting (maybe earthy with some citrus).  Very complex.  The finish was bitter but not overly bitter.

Would I Drink it Again? – In a heartbeat.  It was smooth yet complex but thoroughly thirst quenching.  What a great brew!!

