Brew – The Griz Pale Ale 5%Griz Pale Ale, Fernie Brewing Company

BrewerFernie Brewing Company

Location – British Columbia, Canada

Purchased – Golden, British Columbia

I like that the Fernie Brewing Company use local traditions and stories for thier beer.  It is said around Fernie that The Griz was/is a mountain man, who grew up in the wilderness surrounding Fernie in the 19th century. As the legend goes, locals heard this mysterious child wrestling with bears in the night many moons ago, and The Griz was spotted in more recent times by a group of backcountry skiers, pointing his musket into the clouds and bringing down the powder snowfall.

About the Beer – This beer had a slight malty nose.  It is an Amber/Red colour.  I found the first taste was definitely malt.  It was not too sweet and a nice hint of bitter at the end. Almost refreshing.

Would I Drink it Again? – Yes.  In fact I think I had 4 while on my ski trip!

